Just a few days since I have completely moved into my new apartment, and I have decisions to make.  They remind me of a time when I was in college, when I moved into a little studio apt across from campus.  Compared to where I live now, it was tiny.  But, compared to where I live now, it seemed to fit me a little better.  I didn’t have so many CD’s and books, and to quote Maggie, “it seemed so simple then, when there wasn’t a lot to choose”.  Now I don’t live in Solomon’s Shoes, but compared to then, I’m living quite well.  But, during this one semester, someone who I knew, but didn’t really “know” needed some help… a place to stay so they could continue to go to school.

Like I said, I didn’t have much space, and although I didn’t know him all that well, God reminded me that if I had space, it was His not mine.  So, Jon-Marc moved in.  I had this old bedroom set that contained bunk beds, and when I was ever so much older than 8 years old… I had a bunk-mate.  It was very strange.  But, I felt that it was the least that I could do.

So, the entire semester we co-existed, and I think it was a good thing.  But, I hardly remember anything from it.  Except playing tennis, studying chemistry, and having to chop my bookshelves which a friend gave to me into pieces so we’d have slats strong enough to hold up a 20 something on the top bunk of the bed.  After that semester, we sort of went back to our separate lives, and really didn’t grow all that close to one another.

Now, all these years later, I’m thinking about this time gone by because of a similar situation going on with someone I know nearby.  It’s weird, but I hadn’t really thought of Jon-Marc in years since that semester.  But, I find myself wondering if my small sacrifice on his behalf helped him out… if he’s doing well… where he is and all those sorts of things.  And I’m wondering if I need to allow myself to open up my home again, praying for wisdom, and confronted with the understanding that any space that I have, isn’t mine, it’s His.  And I have an entire room available this time, instead of a bunk.

Except I’ve all of this “stuff” everywhere!  And I’m lamenting the fact that I need to get rid of more things to make it even an option to open the door for my friend.  Ugh, I hate going through all my things and figuring out what to get rid of.  But, if I need to open up my home, for someone who needs some grace… it’s a no-brainer.

I’ll have to clean up REALLY well and UNPACK quicker!   EEK!  I can’t believe that I’m saying this… but I might have a new roommate…  grace be all over him… he’ll need it for the situation he’s in, but if he moves in, he’ll need SO much more. =)

 

