I heard something from the news today that both scares me, and also it convinces me of things that I already knew about the world in which we live.

Someone was recently involved in a hit and run by a car in broad daylight on a very busy road.  According to eyewitnesses, there had to be somewhere between 40 and 100 people who saw what happened.  The man was severely injured, and…

Nothing happened.  No one called 911.  No one got out of their car, even though at least 10 cars slowed down, and DROVE AROUND the poor soul…  no one did anything.  The man would have just been left there if a police car had not happened to be driving that direction due to responding to another call.  It just boggles my mind that that many people watched what happened, and weren’t moved to do anything.

I feel such sadness for the poor man hit by the car.  But I feel almost more sadness for the people who are so representative of our society.  I feel quite ill at the thought that we’re not even bothered by the type of people we are becoming.

I live in what you might consider a more affluent area of a region that I call home.  Ever since I moved down here, I have fought and struggled to maintain a focus outside of my own home, outside of my own interests.  This whole area seems to have a pervading self-centered affliction that doesn’t have any obvious trappings to it, but if you were to come and visit for a week, it would be obvious to you.

I feel that complacence and the maintaining of status (wealth, social level, economic level, etc) is norm here.  And it’s that same type of focus on one’s self that would create multimillion dollar homes mere miles down the road from migrant farm workers that live in dilapidated and discarded boxcars.  Realising that, I feel that I was the motorist that steered around that poor man in the street.

“Don’t get involved.  Someone else will take care of it.  It will inconvenience you too much, disrupt your schedule.  You cannot do anything to change the situation anyway.”  It makes me ill thinking about the excuses and rationalisations.

 

I cannot keep typing.  I’m too upset.  A few words I must ponder again come to mind.

 

“Cowardice asks the question, ‘Is it safe?’ Expediency asks the question, ‘Is it
politic?’ Vanity asks the question, ‘Is it popular?’ But, conscience asks the question,
‘Is it right?’ And there comes a time when one must take a position that is neither safe,
nor politic, nor popular but one must take it because one’s conscience tells one that it
is right.”  —Martin Luther King, Jr.

