a little rain must fall. That’s the old adage.  Clichés don’t seem to have the same weight they used to, but I’m inclined to believe they exist to remind us to not be so cynical. Right now, I’m sitting here in my bedroom, listening to the two distinct sounds of a generator running and the rain falling.

Unlike most people, I love the rain. Always have. There is something about growing up around a sailboat that reminds one that rain is not only expected, it’s healthy. To clean the gunk that’s built up over the last few days and weeks on the deck… to give someone a break from the typical burning sun… to remind someone who the cycle is there for renewal and refreshment. And one can grow accustomed and look forward to it once you understand it.

Recently, I have worked as an electrician. The loud clanging sound of a generator is something I’ve been exposed to in the building of a house. Many times, we have to set up and work on buildings before there is electricity run to the community in which we are building. So, one brings a generator to do the “heavy” work sometimes required in building a house. I have always thought that it was ironic that the electricians sometimes have to carry their own “power” on a job. To actually not work with the power, but to get something ready to receive power is kind of a neat concept, but weird in actual experience. Generators don’t make sense to an electrician’s concept of his job. At least they shouldn’t =b

Over the years, I have gotten deaf to one’s presence when I’m on a job site, and actually it’s usually settling to me because no one can yell at me while it’s running. =b Yet, today, this one is running for the family that lives next to me. They’ve had their electricity turned off for the better part of a month, and they’re running it to make their icebox cold enough to put milk and whatnot in it for the next two days. And it’s pouring outside. The generator is so hot that steam is rising from the rain collecting on top of it.

I wonder how long it will be before it comes to pass that I might be in their situation. I feel for them, the husband has been out of work a year longer than I have (a little over 3 months). I find myself being incredibly vulnerable when the picture of what could happen to me is sitting staring me in the face.

So, today, I am not comforted by the rains, and the generator is rattling me silly. I know that what my neighbours are going through will cause them to know they can go through anything when they get to the other side of this. But, sometimes when it rains, you can only feel wet. It’s only afterwards that you feel the growth that comes from it.

A random thought, not very well constructed. But into every life… a generator must run sometime.

