At the moment I am spending quite a bit of time writing.  It’s becoming a rich time for me.  Thoughts are coalescing and are becoming tactile to me.  During these times in my past I have enjoyed the labour, and also have enjoyed the ease at which things flowed.  The seeming effortlessness of writing used to drive my good friends nuts while they were inundated with pieces and thoughts and reflections…  It put a huge strain upon the relationships with those that were nearest and dearest to me.  However, during the past few years, I have suffered due to the lack of being able to write.  That stifling feeling of being without fresh thought can cripple one’s soul.  Yet, it is during those times of quiet that we cultivate a place in our hearts, souls, and minds where God can breathe freshly into us.  Someone I admire reminded me of this passage that I hadn’t read in awhile.  So, I’d like to embody this while I endeavour to explore what I now have access to in my life. 

Silence frees us from the need to control others … A frantic stream of words flows from us in an attempt to straighten others out. We want so desperately for them to agree with us, to see things our way. We evaluate people, judge people, condemn people. We devour people with our words. Silence is one of the deepest Disciplines of the Spirit simply because it puts the stopper on that.

Richard Foster, from his book Freedom of Simplicity

I so hope that I am not a clanging cymbal, nor a skewed symbol.  My prayers are that there might be found a clarity of purpose in these writings.

