I have had a nagging question for the better part of a day.  I am unsure how to answer it, but I believe just writing the question down might encourage a response…

What is the boldest claim that you can make about your own purpose or reason for your existence?

a phrase that the apostle Paul used to describe himself often in the New Testament…

“Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus, by the will of God…”   I Corinthians 1:1

Wow.  What an incredibly bold statement.  Sometimes, I don’t think that I could make that statement.  The implications of that statement are severe.  Could you make that proclamation? 

The weight of that statement includes the mental ability to call oneself called by God… to call oneself a servant and spokesperson of Christ Jesus.  It is perhaps the hardest thing to understand about our relationship with God.  We are in fact, exactly like Paul.  God calls us first to Him, and then to His people.  We are to be spokespeople for Christ.  Yet, my mind doesn’t want to embrace that aspect of our relationship.

I keep wanting or needing to be more right, to be more holy, to be more properly in tune with God.  Sometimes, I cannot accept that with my past I am still supposed to be that way.  All christians are to be like that.  What a heady concept.  In my mind, I have trouble with that…  Can you honestly say that about yourself?

Maybe someday I’ll be able to have a proper understanding of our relationships with God…  what about you?

