I spent a good part of my day on Saturday looking at pictures from Seoul.  From ordinary libraries and bus stops to skylines with flora and fauna I felt like I was actually there.  My imagination helped me to feel the cool on my face, and to smell the flowers in the air.  In my heart, I found myself feeling alive and totally out of my element.  I loved it.

 

But, I really want that experience again.  Part of the early joy of the possible move to Birmingham is the feeling of walking in a city with which I’m not completely familiar.

Perhaps that is self-serving, but that feeling is amazing.  If you’re never had it before, it’s ultimately freeing.  The challenge of being in a new place, in a new land, is something for which my heart and its wanderlust longs.   

I know that part of it is probably the fact that this place in which I live feels and has felt foreign to me.  I also recognise that where I live now is not remotely where I have ever wanted to be.  That’s way to myopic for this to be a truth for all to reconcile.  However, there is something amazing about walking down a street that doesn’t belong to you, yet.

The criteria for which people use to call a place home is wide and varied.  Sometimes it involves family.  Other times it’s a comfort level.  Most often it is just where we are at any given moment.  However, usually the place that we call “home” has memories that give it more meaning than just the place we live.  When I’ve traveled to a place I’ve never been, I often have moments where I can absorb what I see.  Sometimes, you can see nuances of where God seems to be reaching out to His creation, just by watching.  It’s invigorating to see new cities and the way they speak to me.  As for now, I’m still here where I live now.

But, here are a few pictures of a friend’s home.  Hopefully, God willing, I might get a chance to visit.

Someday.

