The whole system sucks…  Yeah, we’ve heard that before

They seem to sell their souls to get what they want…  Heard that too.

The pressure seems to build until something gives, and it’s usually the people…  Oh so true.

Confusion is the rule of the day…  My prayers seem cluttered also.

We only serve ourselves…  Too easy.

We build us up in the process of tearing others downNot a shock.

The height of civilization also comes with the height of perversion…  (Silence).

I’m so sick of looking at life and feeling sick.  The problem is in my hands, and I have failed often to do my part.  Being violently temporary I could walk past the destruction if I wanted to.  But today, sometimes it overwhelms a heart trying to be raw enough to be sensitive.  Overwhelms a mind too easily focused on itself with images and concepts of others and their situations.   And then, I get it.  There isn’t an us-them concept there.  It’s us. 

And I get overtly quiet and still. 

And broken.

And feel the subtle hopelessness creep behind me.

and realise that it’s not the horrors that I see that are the worst problems our society faces…

it’s the inaction that I represent that allows them to keep happening…

History will have to record that the greatest tragedy of this period of social transition was not the strident clamor of the bad people, but the appalling silence of the good people.”—Martin Luther King Jr.

Selah.

