Photographers have a gift that I have never explored.  I’ve tried to paint and sketch before.  I rarely can draw anything that looks remotely discernible.  Stick figure people give me such fits, that I have cold sweats.  I have often attempted other creative pursuits over my few years.  Some I would say that I have a reasonable aptitude for, others not so much.  Creativity is a vital piece of my world.

When I moved to the area I live in now, I stayed with a wonderful family while I started to rebuild my life.  The husband, Oscar Thompson was a very down to earth man who looked more like the Marlboro Man than a professional photographer.  He spent time in the military, and was born in the middle of the swamplands surrounding the Okeechobee in Florida.  But he had an amazing gift.  His eyes saw things in nature and in architecture that most overlook.  He got some help from another local photographer who takes some of the most striking images of the area, Clyde Butcher.  Clyde encouraged and help nurture the gifts that Oscar had.  What a vision Clyde often has.  He has been known to take entire days to set up one shot, or one take.

Recently, I have made friends with photogs.  I also have spent a lot of time just looking at others’ photography.  The one thing that I keep coming back to is this sense of utter jealousy.  I so wish that I could capture imagery like they do.  Capturing something that crystallises beauty, both striking and challenging to perspective.  I wish I could do that.  Never have been able to.  I have taken pictures of beautiful places and things before.  But, I just captured the inherent beauty that was already there.

 

Sometimes there is a subtle slant of light,

a glancing visual,

or a glimpse of a moment with

so much more extravagance

than the actual image in your sight.   

 

You know, if my words and descriptive ability matched the impact of one picture, I would feel accomplished and gifted.  Writers spend their entire lives to be able to do that even once.  Pictures supposedly are worth a thousand words.  For someone like me who is naturally verbose, that is probably on the mark.  A friend, Melody Harrison Hanson, recently posted on her blog both an image and a reflection that were striking to me.  She used only 33 words.  I wish I could be that succinct.  Me, I would dream to have 15 words that really count. Or maybe just one…

How about this one?

 

Eyes

 

They who have eyes to see, let them see. 

