“As the rain and the snow

come down from heaven,

and do not return to it

without watering the earth

and making it bud and flourish,

so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,

so is my word that goes out from my mouth:

It will not return to me empty,

but will accomplish what I desire

and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”

—-Isaiah 55:10-11 (NIV)

Eloquence.  It is not just the turning of a phrase.  It is the reminder of the truth that all words carry inherent purpose and power.  That the choice of a right and just word is just as life-changing as the most destructive of choices.  To be able to speak and have your words do what they were meant to is a quality that so weakly but by design reflects the Word of our Creator.  The written word is just as powerful or transformative but we have the luxury of fashioning and molding them.  A spoken word comes out in a mere instant. 

I am trying write every day during this Lenten season, except for one day a week to rest and recharge my mind and heart.  I am learning during that as I do so, it is really tempting to throw together something for the purposes of meeting this self-imposed quota.  However, in my life, my words and the intentions behind them have often been the source of some of my greatest pains… have caused some of the greatest wounds that I have ever given to someone.  So, while I am sitting here at almost 4am writing another entry so I have “made up” the missing entry from Saturday, I pray that these aren’t empty phrases.  Just as I hope to prayerfully consider the words I choose in speaking, my hope is that the slew of things here do not turn out to be a combination of the following passage:

“If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.”  —-I Corinthians 13:1-3 (NIV)

Or this:

“When you pray, don’t be like the hypocrites who love to pray publicly on street corners and in the synagogues where everyone can see them.  I tell you the truth, that is all the reward they will ever get.  But when you pray, go away by yourself, shut the door behind you, and pray to your Father in private.  Then your Father, who sees everything, will reward you.  When you pray, don’t babble on and on as people of other religions do. They think their prayers are answered merely by repeating their words again and again. Don’t be like them, for your Father knows exactly what you need even before you ask him!”  —-Matthew 6:5-8  (NLT)

I think these concepts resonate with my heart.  As a writer, observer, and as a human being I do not believe that what I write here is significant in the scheme of things.  Those two ideas are probably why I have never tried to seek out being well-known in my blogging.  I could easily launch this and try to advertise myself.  But, I’m just fleshing out the idea of how to become the man I am supposed to be, whatever that looks like.  How do I change decades of being absolutely free to be brash or insensitive and full of truth, but lacking so much grace? 

There were times in my past where I had the ability to sit and write ad nauseam.  For creative types around me, that used to really frustrate them to tears.  I almost lost a dear friend to the ravages of me being able to crank out substandard, unpolished, not well thought out works.  People closest to me would cringe in hearing these words:

“I wrote another poem today!”

Hopefully that sentiment won’t soon replace poem with the word blog-post…

Selah

