I have hesitated to bring out the big challenge of the previous entries because I am not quite sure as to how to tie it all together. I know that anything that I might draw as a conclusion might seem to be my opinion and not based in fact. However, I do feel this burden to try. Rather than use my own words as a benchmark, I would like to do something that I don’t often enjoy… pull together some words on the subject to make my case.

We have a responsibility as Christians to see the divine in the everyday… circumstances, happenings, creation, weather, and the like. If we do not testify to God’s fingerprints everywhere and the implications of that…

“I tell you,” he replied, “if they keep quiet, the stones will cry out.”—-Luke 19:40

That’s why some of us have been given the ability to write and fashion words, to proclaim His movings in the world. If our creativity and insight is a gift, then it should honour the One who gives it. That is often such a difficult thing to do. We write to get thoughts out, to impart wisdom, to impress and amaze… there are so many reasons to write. Not all of them are what we’re supposed to be doing. Yet, the act of creating, in and of itself is mimicking God.  Heady stuff for me.

Athletes train themselves physically to be able to accomplish the goals that they set out to do. Run, jump, throw, etc.  They spend thousands of hours preparing for their craft.  They prepare for an event or a competition.  There are places where their efforts are realised and there is a sense of completion.  There may be another heat, race, game, etc.  But today’s is done, tomorrow’s is to come.  To become masterful takes polish and commitment.  Some athletes train and perform all year long. 

Writers should work just as hard. I know that I haven’t in the past worked very hard to be the type of writer that is inside of me. Sometimes in the past it was just easier to rely upon my intellect and ability to improvise when I wanted to write. It was for me, after all and never had to be fashioned and worked. But, if my writing is about me, then the focus is all wrong.

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.”—-Romans 12:1-2

We can and should offer ourselves, our perspective, our talent, our insight, and ability as something that is like worship to our Lord Christ. In that offering the fullest potential of what is inside us is made clear.

In The Echo Within by Robert Benson, he talks about the perspective of our calling. Calling isn’t always a vocation or career or job. Sometimes it’s a much deeper and yet simpler concept…

“But I do have at least two observations to make. One is that calling is not always only about who we are or what we do. It is not always strictly about our work. Sometimes it is about who is beside us. And who we are beside.”

He was speaking of living and breathing people, and from previous in the same chapter, it was about children and family. I don’t dispute that our friend Mr. Benson is totally correct. But, if one goes a little deeper, the person of Christ is there below even that surface. Christ in the people around us. Christ in creation around us. He is beside us. He is also who we are beside. That is why writers have to step out to see what their eyes have are able to see.

 

